Movie Review: Wonder Woman

Hello readers! Jonas here. Every once in a while, I’ll cover a movie using more of a review format, rather than my “analyses of the philosophical themes” type of post. This is so that I can cover a movie that may have come out very recently, films that I haven’t had a chance to rewatch, take notes on, or think about for weeks. So today’s post is more of a “review” than the previous posts. I hope you enjoy! If this is your first time visiting my blog, I have more posts about movies! Here is a link to my first review/overview. Enjoy!

Trailer:

Wonder Woman was a movie.

I felt every emotion. It’s got a little bit of every type of movie it could have been, and executes on all of those types, pretty well. This tells me that there was passion, creativity, and love for the source material and for moviemaking on the production and direction side of things, which is always refreshing to see.

However, I do think that the spectrum of genres and tones here is a problem. One thing I couldn’t decipher is what the movie/director was going for. I like to see some categories and strong direction, and this film just didn’t seem like it knew what it wanted to be. So, the diversity of genres in Wonder Woman took away from the final product quite a bit, I didn’t think it all fit together quite right. It makes this film quite hard to describe to people.

Gal Gadot, the Israeli actress who debuted as Wonder Woman herself first in 2016’s Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice, brings something memorable and lovable to the role, things I was not expecting after her somewhat drab performance in the aforementioned, ahem, lets see if I get this right, BVSDOJ?, which reflected the dour, solemn tone of that movie. She’s funny, passionate, beautiful, and perfectly executes the poses, action, and countenance of the DC comics character. So many stills from this film could be taken straight off of a comic book page.

Chris Pine, known for his role as Captain Kirk in the latest Star Trek film series, takes the cake for best performance. I’ve always liked Pine. His emoting, physicality, and comedic timing are a direct hit every time, and his role as a World War I soldier and Wonder Woman’s love interest, Steve Trevor, is no different.

Many scenes in this film seem to be filler leading up to the next action sequence, but man do those action sequences pay off. If theres something this film got right, it’s the bombastic, roller-coaster-like action. Leaping, punching, shooting, stabbing, explosions, this movie knew how to do an exciting action sequence. There was a creativity and innovation that set this film’s action apart from the tiresome, relentless destruction of the first films in the DC universe.

After a confusing first couple days after seeing this, I have concluded that I do like this movie. While it’s still somewhere in the middle for me, it’s by far the best DC comics film so far, and is very reminiscent of the first Captain America film from Marvel, which I think most of us would agree is a step in the right direction.

That being said, I don’t see this film making my top 10 of the year when all is said and done, but it’s a perfectly fine superhero film and I think I’m just spoiled by Logan. Logan probably spoiled me for everything ever.

Definitely go see Wonder Woman if you get the chance. Like I said, there’s something for everyone here. I’ll let you decide if thats a good or bad thing.

3/5 stars.

What do you think? Was Wonder Woman as scattered as I thought it was? How do you think this film holds up against the rest of the DC film canon? Let me know!

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Wonder Woman

  1. I haven’t seen the movie yet, because sadly it will only be released next week, but I have high expectations. Not only because I’ve read great things about it, but I have faith in Patty Jenkins (especially after Monster), and compared to BvS and Suicide Squad the only way is up really. I’ve heard there’s a ton of emotion in the film, which makes me so curious. I’ll be dodging spoilers left and right for another week, but I think the wait will be worth it. Great review.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the feedback! Yes, go see it! there’s something there for everyone.
      I absolutely would be interested! I sent you an email, please do let me know what you’re thinking! I’d love to join.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

